GOSCARs - Nominations for 2024


Exciting News for NCE Members and Friends!

Nominations for the 2024 GOSCARs - the Grassroots Owen-Smith Community Ranger and CBO Awards - are officially OPEN!

In the heart of Namibian community conservation, we celebrate the dedication and hard work of game guards, lion and rhino rangers, fish and community resource monitors, and outstanding community-based organisations. Your nominations shine a light on those holding the thin green line in the field, facing challenges like renewed poaching.

Let's honour the legacy of CBNRM pioneer Garth Owen-Smith by acknowledging the real heroes on the front line of conservation, without these community fieldworkers, there would be no communal conservancies, no communal forests, and no communal fish reserves - and certainly a lot less wildlife. 

🌟 Award Details:

- Winning CBO: N$100,000

- Each Individual GOSCAR: N$25,000 (N$10,000 to their conservancy, community forest, or fish reserve) 💰

🌟 Who Can Nominate?

NGOs, Government, private sector, conservancies, community forests, and fish reserves are all invited to nominate outstanding rangers and/or CBOs.

📝 How to Nominate:

Official GOSCARs forms are available from the NCE website at www.n-c-e.org. Hardcopy nomination forms will be available through NACSO partner’s offices including IRDNC offices in Opuwo, Katima Mulilo, and Windhoek.

Official GOSCARs forms do not need to be used as long as all required information, including your motivation for selecting your nominee, is provided on your nomination document.

Submit GOSCAR nomination documents to the Namibian Chamber of Environment – admin@n-c-e.org; PO Box 40723, Ausspannplatz, Windhoek, or hand deliver to NCE at 20 Nachtigal Street, Windhoek. SMS 081 1625807

For any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact the Namibian Chamber of Environment.

Let's come together to recognise and celebrate those making a real difference on the ground! 🎉🌍 Submit your nominations and let's make the 2024 GOSCARs unforgettable!

You can read about last year's winners here.

NACSO Communications
Find more news stories on these themes:
Garth Owen-Smith
Garth Owen-Smith
One of last year's winners: Rodney Tjavara, Human-Lion Conflict Rapid Response Ranger, Puros Conservancy
One of last year's winners: Rodney Tjavara, Human-Lion Conflict Rapid Response Ranger, Puros Conservancy